Because of Ashlee


This is Ashlee and I.
She lives too far away.
Australia to be precise.
But she’ll live close soon.
So close, she’ll be able to poke me in the eye if i annoy her.
I met her when she was on ‘oliday in England.
I fell in love with this girl, within about five seconds of meeting her.
How strange?
She’s over 10,000 miles away, and there is still no one that could change my mind.
She could live on the moon (which would be weird) and i’d still make sure I found a way to be with her.
Within a few days, she had become an incredibly important part of my life.
I have never known the feeling of someone elses happiness being more important to me, than my own.
She is going to show me around Australia. Sydney and Tasmania.
I’m going to show her Skegness and Blackpool. WINNER!
It is now 72 days before I’m in Australia.
Which is far too long.
But not that long.
In comparison….
……to 100 days or something.
I don’t want to talk through a computer screen any more.
I’m flying really cheap economy class.
Which probably means i’ll be surrounded by live poultry.
Ashlee is going to introduce me to her friends.
And i’ll be nervous and try to play it cool.
And inevitably say something stupid.
We’re going to Paris for New Year.
I’ve always wanted to go to Paris.
But never got round to it.
Plus, I always wanted to share Paris with someone.
Much like Venice.
Romantic cities.
Now I have the perfect opportunity to go.
Ashlee has a blog too.
Go read it. She’s a very talented writer…..
…. and a talented artist.
…. and a talented poet.
…. and a talented photographer.
She has an amazing mind.
When I’m in a room with Ashlee, full of other people, I immediately think “My girlfriend is the most attractive, and most intelligent and talented person in this room.”
I have an overwhelming sense of pride whenever I hear about her day and her life.
And I smile.
And then she smiles.
Which makes me smile more.
I absolutely adore her smile.
I want to show her off to everyone.
Her family seem lovely too.
Which means another group of people i’m inevitably going to say something stupid to.
Which wont make me smile.
We often talk about our future.
And starfish children.
And a dog named Kevin.
I now have a future worth aiming for.
Because of Ashlee.

13 Responses to Because of Ashlee

  1. Asha says:

    Jamie. I could never, ever imagine finding anyone that could make me feel more than you do.
    I consider myself so incredibly lucky, because I have found what most people will never find, their whole lives.
    I love you. You are my fairytale.
    P.S you forgot about the hamster and the flat in leicestershire 🙂

  2. Ushiku says:

    I’m so very glad for you.

    Everyone deserves to have love that makes them alive, too many people just make do with unhappiness or mendacity.

    It seems you’re both sensible enough to cherish it, and are happy enough to enjoy it too.

    It’s good to never go it alone in this world, and when you meet somebody who changes your life the second you meet them, don’t let them slip.

    This is coming from somebody who has let them slip…

    It’s important to be your own person, but to encourage a loved one’s passions if they wish for your involvement, and look after them.

    But you seem a well rounded bloke so I’m sure you’ll both be very happy.

  3. octo says:

    what a beautifull unique lovepoem that came into life !
    Good Luck the both of you …maybe a lot of dreams and plans will come together ! If you don’t like Paris, Belgium is not far away.

  4. Black Flag says:

    Ah Futile,

    My wife’s best friend was once my boss.

    Her boss was once my student.

    But she and I never met.

    As an independent consultant, I lived on an island in the Caribbean, and had more contracts than I could humanly do.

    I hired another consultant off the web – blind, but her credentials were stellar – to pick up a contract for a term of only a month.

    I flew her down to my island to work.

    I picked her up at the airport and by the time I dropped her off at her hotel, I was in love.

    Everyone who knew her and knew me all went “Of course! The perfect match!”

    I proposed to her one morning, in an airport, waiting for a delayed flight – while she was chewing on a breakfast sandwich. Very romantic (not). But she said “Yes!” with a big smile and a long kiss.

    We married a day short of 6 months from our first meeting.

    We’ve been together for 15 years.

  5. […] in life, literature, love, religion, writing by tarantulatrash on April 4, 2010 Jamie wrote a blog about me. He’s incredible. I am so, so […]

  6. Beks says:

    This is how it should be, this is WHAT it should be. Enjoy it, every damn minute of it x

  7. brent says:

    They will probably be my poultry on the plane Jamie, treat them kindly. 🙂

  8. groomo says:

    Nice!

  9. Trist says:

    I love you guys ^_^

  10. Jamie says:

    Jamie. MAN UP! Seriously!

    Nah just kidding, nice words mate. I hope it all works out for you!

  11. kellie says:

    Aww guys I love you both so much and I knew from the moment of first meeting each of you *hey they would go well together* and now its true im made up for you xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

