Lomography Film Roll: Three


This is my third roll of film using my Diana Mini lomography camera.
The film, unlike the other two, is not redscale, it is 35mm iso400 Fujifilm.

I only managed to get three decent shots from this roll. There were a few more, but not that i’d consider good enough to show on here. They will remain in my “average” folder.

My next roll of film for my lomography, hopefully will be film specifically made for lomography.

9 Responses to Lomography Film Roll: Three

  1. wow love the outcome 🙂

  2. The first one is awesome Jamie. I can’t wait until you’re here and we can take photos together.

  3. Black Flag says:

    Do you think there is a way to replicate the effect with digital techniques?

  4. Blasphemy, Black Flag. Utter Blasphemy.

  5. Black Flag says:

    Ash,

    Interesting response.

    Some audiophiles react the same way to digital recordings – they argue that the loss of analog outputs loses some part of the ‘reality’ of sound.

    The aversion to digital photography in this art form is doubly interesting – I can understand the demand to maintain the ‘analog’ picture concept here.

    What it is doubly interesting is that even in the chemical process of photography – it is digital! Each “grain” of photo film is directly equivalent to a “pixel” in digital “film”.

    Yes, the process of taking a picture is as important as the picture – the way the camera feels in your hands, the viewfinder’s image vs the aperture image – the struggles to keep steady or to include the natural motions…etc. is all part of the process.

    Very interesting….

  6. It IS interesting! And always causes discussion 🙂

    I’m all for digital photography, I myself use a DSLR sometimes and I think it’s a wonderful medium.
    What I don’t like, is when people use programs to create a “film-like” effect.

    To me, it’s taking the easy way out, and it’s one of the things that threatens the future of film photography. Polaroid already stopped producing their gorgeous instant film- and have you seen how many “fake a polaroid” programs there are on the net?

    Lomography in particular- has its own philosophy. If you’re interested, look on lomography.com and see the “10 rules of lomography”. Faking the effects these cameras can produce defiles everything the medium stands for.

    There is no feeling like shooting a roll from a lomographic camera and getting it developed with no idea what your images will come out like. Digitally faking it with a ready-made program, in my opinion, is sad, and akin to digitally enhancing or altering the natural voice of a crap singer to try to pass them off as a real artist.

  7. Black Flag says:

    Thanks for the insight!

    I see that much of this art form is actually your own emotion – the anticipation and surprise you feel when you discover your own art – like Christmas present to yourself!

    You have an interesting mind 🙂

    Kind regards!

  8. alfitude says:

    I have a colorsplash- I love taking snaps but I can’t afford to process them!

  9. dkformsma says:

    Have a look at my blog about Lomography vs. Digital Photography http://dkformsma.wordpress.com/2010/10/13/lomography-lovin/. 🙂

Leave a Reply

